Sambal Chicken Skewers

Wow. I really didn’t think I’d like these Asian flavors as much as I do, but I have to say they are pretty fantastic. And don’t worry, if you are worried about it being too spicy (like me) then just drop those ingredients. I didn’t have hot chili paste but sriracha more than makes up for it. I’m also not the biggest fan of ginger so I didn’t put that in either. However, I did put some sesame seeds on it which I thought were fitting.

The best thing about cooking international food is that once you have the ingredients that make up their stereotypical flavor profile, you probably don’t have to buy a whole lot more than that. I already had the fish sauce, rice vinegar and sriracha, so making this was a breeze.

Of course, I would have loved to make it on a grill, but it’s just as easy in a pan. (Make sure you have shorter skewers or else the chicken won’t touch the pan!) If you can, reduce the marinade first and coat the chicken several times with a brush to really make sure you don’t waste any sauce. You may want throw in some fresh herbs if you have them, they always help (I threw in some oregano).

Since we’re on a kick of eating less carbs, not really for health but just so we don’t feel so heavy, I also made a little corn, tomato, and avocado salad. Those are my favorite to make since they are light and flavorful, and, sorry to say, I’m not a huge fan of green salads.

20130708-235650.jpg

Here is the recipe from Bon Appetit:

Ingredients

1/2 cup (packed) light brown sugar
1/2 cup unseasoned rice vinegar
1/3 cup hot chili paste (such as sambal oelek)
1/4 cup fish sauce (such as nam pla or nuoc nam)
1/4 cup Sriracha
2 teaspoon finely grated peeled ginger
1 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into 1 1/2-inch–2-inch pieces

Special equipment

8 bamboo skewers soaked in water at least 1 hour (you don’t have to if not on the grill)

Preparation

Prepare grill for medium-high heat. Whisk brown sugar, vinegar, chili paste, fish sauce, Sriracha, and ginger in a large bowl. Add chicken and toss to coat. Thread 4 or 5 chicken pieces onto each skewer.

Transfer marinade to a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer until reduced by half (about 1 cup), 7–10 minutes.

Grill chicken, turning and basting often with reduced marinade, until cooked through, 8–10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

